BUG Bones get moved to the comp center

Questions about Duik,
Envy and demands about future versions,
Development status.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.

  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:

    1. Search for a solution in the available guides and documents.
      The Duik user guide is available as a PDF for free, or you can buy the beautiful book and help finance Duik.
    2. Some video tutorials are available.
    3. Maybe you can find an answer in the frequently asked questions (FAQ).
    4. You can user the search tool of this forum to see if your question has already been asked.
  • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
  • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
  • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Maui
Posts: 11

BUG Bones get moved to the comp center

Post#1 » Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:38 am

Hey,
I think I found a Bug in Duik but I'm not 100% sure.

It seems that everytime I try to rig an illustrator file I brought in via the normal file importer (ctrl+I) using the Composition Retain-Layer SIze setting that Duik has some problems.

I have made 3 screenshot showing what I mean. After importing the file I placed 3 pins on an arm
1_Duik_pins placement.png
1_Duik_pins placement.png (22.83 KiB) Viewed 970 times
and after I hit the create bones button in Duik all get moved to the center of the comp
2_Duik_bug.png
2_Duik_bug.png (19.13 KiB) Viewed 970 times

If I however copy the illustrator art after I imported it from the automatically created comp into a new comp with exactly the same dimensions,... of the imported one everything works fine
3_Duik_newCompinAFX.png
3_Duik_newCompinAFX.png (21.89 KiB) Viewed 970 times


I mean this isn't to much of a workflow hit but I guess it could be interessting for some others as well and maybe the developers can find a way to kill this bug 8-)

Best regards

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 129

Re: BUG Bones get moved to the comp center

Post#2 » Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:53 pm

Hi,

Many thanks for your feedback. I'm going to run some tests to see what's going wrong, can you send me the illustrator file you used in this example?

Can you tell me also which version of After Effects you're using?
Thanks!

wesbot333
Posts: 1

Re: BUG Bones get moved to the comp center

Post#3 » Thu Jan 26, 2017 7:56 am

Hi Duduf. :)

Been having the same problem for weeks now.
bugReport01.png
bugReport01.png (172.47 KiB) Viewed 958 times

bugReport02.png
bugReport02.png (145.16 KiB) Viewed 958 times


I've read from github and other forums about switching Collapse Transform on the layer, but it hasn't removed the bug. My file is a psd; everything rasterized. Running latest DuIK. CC 2017, if that helps.

Edit:
Can confirm, making new comp with the same exact settings and copying layers there removes bug. Simply duplicating the imported comp doesn't fix it. Bones will create on center again.

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 129

Re: BUG Bones get moved to the comp center

Post#4 » Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:55 am

That's very weird, and it seems you've found a bug in After Effects or Duik. Can you send me the PSD to investigate?

Thanks!

Marcba
Posts: 1

Re: BUG Bones get moved to the comp center

Post#5 » Thu Feb 16, 2017 6:11 pm

Hi,

same problem with .ai files. I'm using AE 13.5.0.347 and Duik 15.11.

Hope you find the solution, anyway, thanks for your work on this!

Marc

LilPeanutBrotha
Posts: 1

Re: BUG Bones get moved to the comp center

Post#6 » Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:50 pm

Just wanted to chime in, that this started happening to me too, Also using PSD assets, on CC2017. I just did a test with a new comp and solids, and there was no issue. Then I looked at my comp browser; I had another precomp with the same name as my troubled one. When I renamed that, it was fixed!

Try that if you haven't!

PS: Thanks so much for making DUIK, it's life changingly good, and we use it all the time at my office here, key part of my workflow. Keep up the good work!

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 129

Re: BUG Bones get moved to the comp center

Post#7 » Sat Apr 01, 2017 10:54 am

Thanks for your feedback, this issue has been fixed, and will be available in the next update, in a few days.

BTW, be careful to not have several comps with the same names when using expressions/rigging with Duik ;)

Maui
Posts: 11

Re: BUG Bones get moved to the comp center

Post#8 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 12:04 pm

Sorry I didn't see that there were answers to my initial post. Do you still need my illustrator files to see what was going on after the file import using the retain layer size option or is this also solved?

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 129

Re: BUG Bones get moved to the comp center

Post#9 » Mon Apr 10, 2017 8:58 pm

Hi,

All issues that appeared after importing a PSD/AI or any other file were because of composition names (according to what I've found so far)
And all of those should be fixed when you use Duik in the most standard ways.
In any other case, just make sure you don't have comps sharing the same name.

Duik 16 will include some tools to automatically check layer and composition names to fix this kind of issue.

2biasmotion
Posts: 1

Re: BUG Bones get moved to the comp center

Post#10 » Tue May 23, 2017 2:08 pm

Having the same issue when using shape layers. Tried to pre-compose the shape layer and that fixed the issue.

Not sure if it's simply an issue when using a shape layer?

Return to “Duik - [After Effects] - Rigging et Animation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest