Puppet Tool shifting

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available guides and documents.
    2. Some video tutorials are available.
    3. Maybe you can find an answer in the frequently asked questions (FAQ).
    4. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
    • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
    • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
    • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
    • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
nugas
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 10:30 am

Puppet Tool shifting

Post by nugas » Sun Jul 29, 2018 10:36 am

Hi,

The rig is fine in my artist's computer and also in my computer but when I sent to the client, one of the hand starts falling apart. I asked to send his file and checked, and found that one of the layer's puppet tool mesh is offset for some reason. There is no issue with Ae version, since we both are using same.

Please take a look at attached images.

Any idea why this is happening ?
Attachments
b.JPG
b.JPG (271.1 KiB) Viewed 76 times

nugas
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 10:30 am

Re: Puppet Tool shifting

Post by nugas » Sun Jul 29, 2018 10:39 am

BTW, the other hand is fine.
Attachments
a.JPG
a.JPG (264.31 KiB) Viewed 74 times

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Puppet Tool shifting

Post by Duduf » Sun Jul 29, 2018 10:50 am

Hi,

The mesh being on its right place, it seems the artwork moved. My best guess is that it has moved/changes in Ai. Did you impprt the file keeping layer size or using document size?

If you used document size and for some reason your client moved thr artwork in Ai, this would happen. Same if something was changed while keeping layer size.

When using the puppet tool, my advice is to always precompose the layer first, to be able to make/fix changes inside the precomp after the mesh has been created.

Post Reply