Suggestion: Bone set presets?

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available guides and documents.
    2. Some video tutorials are available.
    3. Maybe you can find an answer in the frequently asked questions (FAQ).
    4. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
    • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
    • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
    • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
    • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
karip
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:19 pm

Suggestion: Bone set presets?

Post by karip » Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:52 am

Hi,

I've been working quite a lot with duik and I always do the same set over and over again: set puppet pins, name them, add bones, add structure, reposition the structure over the bones and create auto rig.

And after repeating this many times, I caught myself thinking about a simpler workflow from a user perspective.

So, is this following workflow a possibility?

1.I have a art layer, f.ex Hand_R.

2.In Duik, under Arm Structure, I would have previously set presets, in this case "Hand_R".

3.I press that - Duik would create a structure. (In this case: arm, forearm and hand).

4.I would then position that over the artwork, into correct positions (so that shoulder, elbow and wrist positions are positioned correctly for the next stage where puppet pins are placed.)

5.I would press apply, and Duik would set puppet pins and name them by the preset (f.ex Wrist_R, elbow_R, shoulder_R).

I don't know if it's possible to make AE to set the pins and rename them this way. But this way I would always have all my rigs with the same logic and it would speed up the rigging a bit.


If the preset idea is too heavy, could it be possible just to use structure positions to set puppet pins (and add bones at the same time)?

(I haven't considered this from a FK rig perpective, I seem to be using puppet pin-IK combination all the time. I also don't know kind of logic you have to have in order to drive AE. So if all this is silly, let me know)

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Suggestion: Bone set presets?

Post by Duduf » Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:01 pm

Hi,

This is a good suggestion, and we've tried to find a way to do this kind of things for a long time actually ;)
The problem is that there are currently no official way to add puppet pins with a script in After Effects. It's too early to talk about this but we may have found a way to do this in a future update, but nothing sure for now...
This being said, in the next version of Duik, this process will be a bit quickier as it will be possible to create structures directly from existing puppet pins, without using intermediary bones, you'll just have to select the pins and then create the structures, everything will be linked automatically.

karip
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2018 1:19 pm

Re: Suggestion: Bone set presets?

Post by karip » Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:45 pm

I was thinking you must've thought about similar idea already :)

And thanks for the info, I already like that automationidea.
Thank you for your work!

tao1022
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:18 am

Re: Suggestion: Bone set presets?

Post by tao1022 » Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:29 pm

Actually I have a similar question. Could we have a structure preset feature? like sometimes, I want to create a structure with the legs without toes or the arms without figures, or body without shoulders.

It would be great if we can have a preset feature making different presets. Like preset called ' simple human' with the structures without figures or toes. Then when I choose this preset and create a whole structure system, it doesn't create the structures I don't want.

Thanks

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Suggestion: Bone set presets?

Post by Duduf » Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:36 pm

Hi!

This is a good idea, and something I wanted to do but... Forgot ;) I'm adding it in the todo list, and I'll implement this in a future update. It's quite easy to do, so it should be available soon!

Post Reply