Arm not swinging in automatic walk cycle

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available guides and documents.
    2. Some video tutorials are available.
    3. Maybe you can find an answer in the frequently asked questions (FAQ).
    4. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
    • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
    • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
    • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
    • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
mfisher9056
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:55 pm

Arm not swinging in automatic walk cycle

Post by mfisher9056 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:08 pm

Hi

I am making a simple walk cycle in Duik and the hands and arms are not swinging back and forth like I've seen done in tutorials. I've been able to get the elbow to bend and straighten but it's like the wrist is locked and the whole arm won't swing. Is there a reason why this might be happening?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-11-29 at 1.08.03 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-11-29 at 1.08.03 PM.png (600.39 KiB) Viewed 744 times

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Arm not swinging in automatic walk cycle

Post by Duduf » Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:51 pm

Hi,

I don't see any reason there why it would not work.

You can:

- check in the effects of the hands controllers if there are expressions in the "Individual FK Controls" (or post here a screenshot of the expressions which are in these effects).
- check in the effect of the walk cycle controller if changing the values in the controls for the arms changes something or not.
- Try again in a new composition making sure you select all the controllers when you create the walk cycle, you may have forgotten the hands when creating it...

mfisher9056
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:55 pm

Re: Arm not swinging in automatic walk cycle

Post by mfisher9056 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 7:26 pm

I've posted a screenshot of what is currently in the individual controls for the hand. I've tried to edit the arm settings in the walk cycle controller but when I change the settings, nothing happens.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2018-11-29 at 2.19.29 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-11-29 at 2.19.29 PM.png (123.19 KiB) Viewed 739 times

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Arm not swinging in automatic walk cycle

Post by Duduf » Thu Nov 29, 2018 7:42 pm

The IK should be disabled (first checkbox in the effect) as the arm is animated in FK on the walk cycle.

Duik should have disabled it automatically when applying the walk cycle, if it did not this is a bug. Let me know if it was yout mistake or not so I can fix what needs to be fixed ;)

mfisher9056
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:55 pm

Re: Arm not swinging in automatic walk cycle

Post by mfisher9056 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 8:28 pm

Ah I believe that was my doing so no need to fix anything. The hands have a slight movement to them now but the swinging of the arms is still not happening and I am not able to edit it in the walk cycle controller. It's like the shoulders are locked to the body. Is there another place where I may have accidentally clicked something?

mfisher9056
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:55 pm

Re: Arm not swinging in automatic walk cycle

Post by mfisher9056 » Sat Dec 01, 2018 8:09 pm

I also noticed that the toes are not automatically bending when my character is walking. I have watched tutorials where this happens automatically but it seems not to be happening in mine. Is this something that I individually need to keyframe out or could there possibly be something wrong? I have linked all my artwork to the right structures I believe so I'm not sure what I am doing wrong.

Post Reply