Extract Controllers Breaking Rig

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available official user guide.
    2. Some video tutorials are available.
    3. Maybe you can find an answer in the frequently asked questions (FAQ).
    4. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
    • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
    • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
    • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
    • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
Labelkills
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:54 pm

Extract Controllers Breaking Rig

Post by Labelkills » Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:59 am

I have three rigged characters in the same scene.

I brought each character in as precomps into the scene, then used the "Extract Controllers" button. The first two characters work great and I was able to key frame all the controllers. However, the third character's controllers work UNTIL I add a keyframe. As soon as I do, the controllers no longer are attached to the structures or art. Then if I go back to the rigged composition, all the controllers values are red and locked.

I can't seem to find what is wrong. Not sure how to move forward. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Labelkills
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:54 pm

Re: Extract Controllers Breaking Rig

Post by Labelkills » Thu Dec 13, 2018 5:07 am

It appears that the art and structure will move only where the FIRST keyframe is, but any keyframe after that only the controller moves to and not the art and structure.

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Extract Controllers Breaking Rig

Post by Duduf » Thu Dec 13, 2018 8:51 am

This is weird.

Maybe you have compositions with the same name and this breaks some expressions?
Can you send me the aep so I can have a look?

Labelkills
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:54 pm

Re: Extract Controllers Breaking Rig

Post by Labelkills » Thu Dec 13, 2018 6:08 pm

I sent you a private message. Thanks!

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Extract Controllers Breaking Rig

Post by Duduf » Thu Dec 27, 2018 10:57 am

I have finally found what's wrong: It is because you moved the precomp layer in time, this offsets the link in time too.

In the project you sent me, you can just bring back the precomp to the first frame of the main comp to fix the issue.

I'm working on the expression of the extract controllers tool to make it work in your case too

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Extract Controllers Breaking Rig

Post by Duduf » Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:29 am

I have found a way, this will be fixed in the next update

Gérard
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:04 am

Re: Extract Controllers Breaking Rig

Post by Gérard » Wed Jan 23, 2019 8:42 am

I tried to "extract controllers in Master Properties" from a precomposed rig.
I get error messages. the controllers do appear in the main comp and in the Master Properties but they not work anymore.
I am on Duik 16.0.Beta3 (and AE last version).
I suppose this is the same issue.

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Extract Controllers Breaking Rig

Post by Duduf » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:54 am

Probably..

Anyway, I won't recommend using master properties ;) it lags too much, the option is there to be ready if Adobe does something about this. in the meantime, I don't think it's usable at all

Gérard
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:04 am

Re: Extract Controllers Breaking Rig

Post by Gérard » Tue Jan 29, 2019 12:25 pm

Good to know!
Thank you for your answer:-)

Labelkills
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:54 pm

Re: Extract Controllers Breaking Rig

Post by Labelkills » Wed Mar 20, 2019 7:55 pm

Duduf wrote:
Thu Dec 27, 2018 11:29 am
I have found a way, this will be fixed in the next update
Thank you so much! <3

Post Reply