IK/FK Switch not working

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available guides and documents.
    2. Some video tutorials are available.
    3. Maybe you can find an answer in the frequently asked questions (FAQ).
    4. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
    • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
    • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
    • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
    • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
rickswah
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:30 pm

IK/FK Switch not working

Post by rickswah » Tue Jan 29, 2019 12:52 pm

hello!

I'm trying to use the IK/FK switch, doing exactly as it's described on the documentation, but nothing is really happening but it's only turning the IK on and off.
Dunno what other detail should I describe to help to understand what's going on

I'm using the AE 2019 (16.0.1) version on win 10
Last edited by rickswah on Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gérard
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 10:04 am

Re: IK/FK Switch not working

Post by Gérard » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:11 am

Did you try unfolding the FK controls under the IK Button in your controller ?
Attachments
FK.jpg
FK.jpg (24.14 KiB) Viewed 432 times

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: IK/FK Switch not working

Post by Duduf » Wed Jan 30, 2019 8:46 am

I'll run some tests to make sure everything works, but as Gérard said, after the switch you should be able to animate using FK, and the switch may add some keyframes in these FK controls.

rickswah
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:30 pm

Re: IK/FK Switch not working

Post by rickswah » Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:55 pm

well, it was an isolated issue with my rig. I did some tests with a fresh IK and is working perfectly.

It seems I'd duplicated IK controller effects and some other messy stuff haha
I just deleted everything and made a new one from scratch, it's working fine now.

sorry for bothering haha

rickswah
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 9:30 pm

Re: IK/FK Switch not working

Post by rickswah » Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:48 pm

okay, I found the issue!
I don't really like to have the Markers over my timeline, so I always delete the Controller marker that comes along the IK, and that's why nothing happens when I press the Switch button haha

well, I hope it helps anyone who has the passing by the same issue

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 551
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: IK/FK Switch not working

Post by Duduf » Sun Feb 03, 2019 12:10 pm

Oh yes, the markers contain hidden data which Duik needs to work properly.

If they bother you, you can move them out of the timeline, without deleting them; just move them to a negative time, they will be hidden but still there ;)

https://rainbox-dev.github.io/DuAEF_Dui ... ik/#layers

Post Reply