Structure not automatically positioned to selected layer

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available official user guide.
    2. Some video tutorials are available.
    3. Maybe you can find an answer in the frequently asked questions (FAQ).
    4. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
    • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
    • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
    • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
    • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
geroldbrunner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:42 am

Structure not automatically positioned to selected layer

Post by geroldbrunner » Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:27 pm

Hey guys,

I know that this worked some time ago, but it's not, at least for me at the time being.

Here is the problem:
I add three puppet pins to a photoshop layer and want the structure to be moved automatically and be linked to the puppet pins (actually the pins to the structure).
Normally that's done by selecting the "puppet mesh" and simply click on the "arm structure" or similar.
But this is not working for me anymore.

The Structure just gets created and that's it.

Have tried to reinstall DUIK 16.0.11, but still not working.

Any thoughts?

thanks. :)

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Structure not automatically positioned to selected layer

Post by Duduf » Thu Mar 07, 2019 6:24 pm

Well, this will be possible in the future 16.1 version, but I don't think it has ever worked with current public versions actually ;)

geroldbrunner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:42 am

Re: Structure not automatically positioned to selected layer

Post by geroldbrunner » Thu Mar 07, 2019 6:41 pm

Strange, because I'm 100% sure I've done it this way and various tutorials (including the official one) are doing that exactly :D
https://en.tuto.com/after-effects/the-o ... 15371.html

see: Structures - > With a Selection

Thanks for looking into this! :)

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Structure not automatically positioned to selected layer

Post by Duduf » Thu Mar 07, 2019 7:09 pm

The official tutorial uses a beta version of 16.1, provided with the tutorial, and not the public version ;)

geroldbrunner
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:42 am

Re: Structure not automatically positioned to selected layer

Post by geroldbrunner » Thu Mar 07, 2019 8:22 pm

That is really weird, was this feature in one of the version before 0.11?

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Structure not automatically positioned to selected layer

Post by Duduf » Sat Mar 09, 2019 2:11 pm

I'm pretty sure the answer is no ;)

Post Reply