Duik Not Creating Controllers on AutoRig/IK

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available official user guide.
    2. Some video tutorials are available.
    3. Maybe you can find an answer in the frequently asked questions (FAQ).
    4. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
    • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
    • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
    • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
    • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
KingBeast
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:08 pm

Duik Not Creating Controllers on AutoRig/IK

Post by KingBeast » Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:18 pm

As the title says, I'm using Duik to rig a basic humanoid character (a skeleton), and I'm following this tutorial here ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i63vPXJ00r0&t=967s) to do so. I have used this tutorial and method with great success prior.

However, now when I attempt to use the Auto-rig & IK function, it is not creating the controllers needed. I am missing one foot, and both hand controllers.

Likewise, it is also bringing up the 'Magic is Happening' waiting screen as a composition (that I can go in and see/edit) that Duik makes when it is processing a command.

Is there a way to fix this? I am not the most technical person on the planet and did have help to install duik, so putting things into a very simplified set of directions would be appreciated if the fix is on the more technical side. Thank you for your help!

KingBeast
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:08 pm

Re: Duik Not Creating Controllers on AutoRig/IK

Post by KingBeast » Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:20 pm

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... issues.PNG

A screenshot of the issue at hand, you can also see the 'magic is happening' as a created composition in the comp file areas.

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Duik Not Creating Controllers on AutoRig/IK

Post by Duduf » Fri Apr 19, 2019 4:26 pm

Hi,

It seems you've found a bug...
Let me know what is your version of After Effects, and:
Can you "enable javascript debugging" in the preferences of After Effects (either in the general tab, or the scripting tab for most recent versions) and then try again?
An error should be show, or a full code editor. Just grab a screenshot of the whole window, and post it here so I can have a look ;)

Thanks!

KingBeast
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 5:08 pm

Re: Duik Not Creating Controllers on AutoRig/IK

Post by KingBeast » Mon May 13, 2019 2:48 pm

Hello Duduf,

I have After Effects 2019 (version 16.1.1 build 4). I enabled the javascript debugging but it hasn't brought up any additional windows - I'm not technologically savvy and am not sure how to bring up this window.

Ultimately the problem just happened to fix itself with my build before, but in an attempt to make further rigs - it's happening again. Duik's auto-rig and IK will creature the spine controls and Ik, maybe one foot control, but then will not make hands or one of the foot controls. I can manually input the hands and they rig up just fine, but trying to make the other foot rig makes all the controls go haywire.

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/ ... issues.PNG

Let me know what you think, or how to open up that Script editor so it can show the errors.

Thanks!

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Duik Not Creating Controllers on AutoRig/IK

Post by Duduf » Mon May 13, 2019 4:55 pm

Can you send me an aep as it is just before you run the autorig? (on which fails on your side)

I'll test here to see what may be wrong

Post Reply