[RC2] Your feedback (update 07/01/2018)

User avatar
Morganimator
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:50 pm

Re: [Alpha8] Your feedback (update 03/31/2018)

Post by Morganimator » Fri Apr 06, 2018 7:10 pm

Also, the Bezier IK button is missing from the Links and Contraints menu...?
Alpha8Bezier.png
Alpha8Bezier.png (24.93 KiB) Viewed 262 times

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: [Alpha8] Your feedback (update 03/31/2018)

Post by Duduf » Sat Apr 07, 2018 9:06 pm

Hi!

Once again, many thanks for your feedback.

I've just implemented/fixed a lot of what you reported earlier ;)

The bugs in IK creation should be fixed in the next Alpha, but as I'm updating the effect used, this may cause some issues with rigs made with previous versions.
In a few words: it's not possible to use rigs made with previous versions and the latest Alpha without restarting After Effects in between...

This won't happen in future public updates of Duik, as I will be using a versionning system for the effects, which I've just not yet implemented in the Alpha versions.
Morganimator wrote:
Fri Apr 06, 2018 7:10 pm
Also, the Bezier IK button is missing from the Links and Contraints menu...?
I have removed it from the "Rookie" mode, see in the settings of Duik ;)
settings.PNG
settings.PNG (8.06 KiB) Viewed 261 times
Set the UI to "Standard" or Expert" to bring it back ;)
In this mode, the "IK" button does create Bezier IK when you select more than three layers.
Actually, I'm thinking about removing the simple "IK" button too, letting the autorig button rig everything. One button to control them all ;)

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: [Alpha9] Your feedback (update 04/29/2018)

Post by Duduf » Sun Apr 29, 2018 3:30 pm

A new Alpha version of Duik is available!

> Download

There are a lot of new features and improvements in this one:

  • Walk Cycle: the first procedural animation is available.
    hominoidwalk.gif
    hominoidwalk.gif (571.46 KiB) Viewed 259 times
  • The keyframe types button in the Animation panel can now be used to create keyframes on all animated properties.
  • Extract controllers automatically from a precomp to your main composition, and animate outside of the precomposed character. Scale, flip, flop the character as you need. With After Effects > 15.1, extracted controllers can use Master Properties to be able to animate several instances of the same rig, in the same project.
    extract-controllers.gif
    extract-controllers.gif (270.71 KiB) Viewed 259 times
  • The Auto-rig is now smart enough to detect what you need if you're applying it to something else than predefined Structures. The IK and FK buttons have been removed from the Rookie UI mode, and moved into the Auto-rig options in the Standard and Expert modes.
  • A new automation, the Looper allows to add both a loopIn and a loopOut on several properties at once, and control them with an animatable effect. The loops can be of the standard three types: "Cycle", "Offset, "Ping Pong", and "Continue".
  • The Effector now has two modes: Circle or Infinite line.
    new-effector.gif
    new-effector.gif (1.06 MiB) Viewed 259 times
  • You can now import your traditionnal animations from Krita, just export them as CSV!
There are a lot of other improvements and a bunch of bug fixes, the comprehensive list is available on the Duik Wiki, which has been greatly improved too.

We're closing to the public release of Duik, there are just a few features to add, and I've begun to implement the new help system, and write some documentation. I can't resist to show it to you right now, although it will be available only in the next Alpha version.
duikhelp.gif
duikhelp.gif (191.16 KiB) Viewed 259 times
The help for any tool will be displayed when click on the button while holding the Shift key ;)

User avatar
Morganimator
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:50 pm

Re: [Alpha9] Your feedback (update 04/29/2018)

Post by Morganimator » Mon Apr 30, 2018 4:58 pm

Awesome new stuff! Excited to try Alpha 9! We're finishing up classes here at RCAD so I've been a bit distracted, but I'll be getting back to DUIK testing soon! :D

Smulder
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:21 am

Re: [Alpha9] Your feedback (update 04/29/2018)

Post by Smulder » Tue May 01, 2018 9:27 am

Amazing work on these last updates! It's been interesting to try out all of these new features as they are released.

Just a quick question since I couldn't find it anywhere, is it possible to change the way bones are named?
At the moment, sometimes when working with longer file names it loses the exact name of the pin and shows "...'
Is there a preference somewhere to change it so it would just use the pin name and not put the layer in front?

Thanks!

Example:
Image

benobeone
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:37 am

Re: [Alpha9] Your feedback (update 04/29/2018)

Post by benobeone » Wed May 09, 2018 10:17 pm

Just been playing around with the Automated walk cycle. that is a super time saver, love the flexibility in the controls. Thank you

benobeone
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:37 am

Re: [Alpha9] Your feedback (update 04/29/2018)

Post by benobeone » Thu May 10, 2018 4:48 pm

I Have a feature request for the rename tool.

Where we have the option of removing the first: said number of digits is it possible to have an option to insert after/before this point.

Say I have "S/ Foot" ect and i want it to read "S/ L Foot" I can choose to place my L 2 Characters in (possibly 4 if the spaces are included)

This is not a big deal as I can just remove those first few letters with the system as is and add the Prefix "S/ L" myself however this could be more complicated with a longer name. it was just a thought.

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: [Alpha9] Your feedback (update 04/29/2018)

Post by Duduf » Sat May 12, 2018 12:10 pm

Smulder wrote:
Tue May 01, 2018 9:27 am
At the moment, sometimes when working with longer file names it loses the exact name of the pin and shows "...'
Hi,
there's no preference for this (yet). I'm going to do this automatically at first, displaying only the pin name when the whole name is too long (but keeping the layer name if it fits). The layer name may be needed in case the bone is added to another effect than a puppet pin.

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: [Alpha9] Your feedback (update 04/29/2018)

Post by Duduf » Sat May 12, 2018 12:14 pm

benobeone wrote:
Thu May 10, 2018 4:48 pm
Say I have "S/ Foot" ect and i want it to read "S/ L Foot" I can choose to place my L 2 Characters in (possibly 4 if the spaces are included)
Thanks for your feedback. I understand your issue, but I think implementing this is going to complicated in a UX/UI perspective. But I think what I'm going to do is add, in expert mode at least, the ability to rename/search and replace using regular expressions. It's more advanced but simple regular expressions are not so difficult to learn, and it can be way more powerful than the current rename/search and replace tools.

benobeone
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:37 am

Re: [Alpha9] Your feedback (update 04/29/2018)

Post by benobeone » Tue May 15, 2018 10:24 am

Glad to hear your keeping it.

I came across something a bit odd this morning I was rigging using puppet pin and when i went to create controllers they would be made but I could not see them unless they were selected and thus highlighted.

After some fiddling about I found the issue could be prevented/reversed by changing the puppet engine from Advanced to legacy. I do not know if this is a Duik thing or an after effects preview issue due to the new puppet tools but thought I would let you know.

Post Reply