Can't Load / Run DUIK Bassel

Rigging, animation, import/export of characters, props and cameras comprehensive tool set for After Effects.
Forum rules
Please read these rules and advices before posting.
  • Before you ask any question about a tool, to avoid duplicates, please:
    1. Search for a solution in the available official user guide.
    2. Some video tutorials are available.
    3. Maybe you can find an answer in the frequently asked questions (FAQ).
    4. You can make a search to see if your question has already been asked.
    • Thank you for giving a detailed and precise title to your topics, to help searching in the future.
    • We're very few people to manage this forum, please be patient if we're a bit long to answer.
    • Don't hesitate to answer to other people's questions! The goal of this forum is not only to have the Rainbox team answer users' questions, but to have everyone sharing and helping each other.
    • Finally, please always be polite, and keep in mind that all we want is sharing techniques and knowledge, helping each other.
Post Reply
bimbongr
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:45 am

Can't Load / Run DUIK Bassel

Post by bimbongr » Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:54 am

Hi guys,

Hope you can help out with this problem as I have few projects I need to start working on and all of them include character animation for which I intend to use DUIK Bassel for rigging.

The problem is I can't load DUIK Bassel as AE keeps throwing and error Unable to execute script at line 486. Uncaught JavaScript exception: JSON.parse

Since then I tried everything in my powers:
- Tried to run the script manually from File - Scripts - Run Script...
- Download almost all previous versions of DUIK Bassel and had the same problem with each and everyone
- Reinstalled completely fresh copy of AE removing all previous settings, script and plugins

Restarted pc multiple times
Reinstalled Java
In settings: Javascript debugger is unchecked - off
Allow script to write... - is checked / on
Deleted DUIK DuFF folders in AppData/Roaming

I have no problems running any other script

Screenshot attached.

Can you please advise on what I can do more?

P.s
Just installed DUIK 15 and it's running fine.

Thank you in advance!
Attachments
duik_error.png
duik_error.png (71.82 KiB) Viewed 3490 times

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Can't Load / Run DUIK Bassel

Post by Duduf » Fri Jan 04, 2019 1:45 pm

Hi,

This is an issue which seems to be caused by another script in After Effects (but I still did not have found which).
It should be fixed with the next major update in Duik (but I don't know exactly when we'll be able to release it).
In the meantime here's what you can try:

- Close all scripts and extensions in your workspace
- Deactivate the launch screen in the preferences of After Effects
- Restart After Effects
- Try again to launch Duik

If it does not work, you can try to reset your After Effects preferences, then try Duik again.

Let me know if it helps!

bimbongr
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:45 am

Re: Can't Load / Run DUIK Bassel

Post by bimbongr » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:00 pm

Hi,

Thank you for your quick reply! Unfortunately no luck after doing your suggestions. As I wrote I tried reinstalling a clean version of AE without adding any external scripts, plugins except DUIK Bassel and using the default workspace but it throws me the same error.

Regards!

User avatar
Duduf
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:59 pm

Re: Can't Load / Run DUIK Bassel

Post by Duduf » Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:25 pm

This is very weird... I'll have to investigate more, but I've never been able to reproduce the issue.

I hope the upcoming update will fix this

bimbongr
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:45 am

Re: Can't Load / Run DUIK Bassel

Post by bimbongr » Fri Jan 04, 2019 4:43 pm

Duduf wrote:
Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:25 pm
This is very weird... I'll have to investigate more, but I've never been able to reproduce the issue.

I hope the upcoming update will fix this
Thank you for your help. Let me know if you figure it out. Wondering if there is something else in my system preventing it to work but as I said DUIK 15 works flawlessly and other scripts also run without problem.

Regards

rosatron
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 12:48 am

Re: Can't Load / Run DUIK Bassel

Post by rosatron » Tue May 21, 2019 12:51 am

I have this exact same error:
'unable to execute script at line 486. Uncaught JavaScript exception: JSON.parse'
I reinstalled and went through all the same steps as the original poster but still nothing. Was a solution found?

bimbongr
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 11:45 am

Re: Can't Load / Run DUIK Bassel

Post by bimbongr » Tue May 21, 2019 4:14 am

Hi for what is worth I had to reinstall Windows and now it's working fine.

Post Reply